Nermin Abadan Unat Gender Studies Award

On the occasion of the centennial anniversary of our esteemed teacher Nermin Abadan, a pioneering women leader to have contributed to the development of the struggle for gender equality with her works, the Nermin Abadan Unat Gender Studies Award will be offered to undergraduate students of the Ankara University Faculty of Political Sciences by the Graduate Students’ Union (Mülkiyeliler Birliği).

Şirin Tekeli 2021 Research Award

The Şirin Tekeli Research Award aims to support and encourage gender-oriented research in Turkey. The award is open to doctoral students and all researchers who have completed their doctoral degrees for a maximum of 15 years. The submitted research proposals are evaluated by an interuniversity selection committee based on international academic criteria. The amount of the award will be determined by the selection committee depending on the total number of research awarded.

Dicle Koğacıoğlu Article Award

Dicle Koğacıoğlu Article Award is given by SU Gender with the support of Sabancı University Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences in memory of our beloved colleague, friend, and sociologist Dicle Koğacıoğlu, who tragically passed away in 2009.

Ferhunde Özbay Article Award

Ferhunde Özbay Article Award, which has been given for more than a decade now, aims to encourage gender-oriented research on Turkey and to encourage young researchers. The award is open to graduate and doctoral students and researchers who have received their master’s degree in the last two years. Submitted articles are evaluated anonymously by an interuniversity selection committee. The awards are announced to the public at a conference, followed by an award ceremony held in December of each year.

The Ferhunde Özbay Article Award, the first of which was awarded to Leyla Bektaş Ata for her work titled “Continuous Immigration Conditions in Slums” in 2018, is given by the Population Science Association, where Özbay was also founded.

Detailed information can be found on the website of the Population Science Association ( /) is reachable.